About Us

Policy Board

Functions of Policy Board

The Policy Board is the decision-making body of the MPO. The Board is made up of elected and appointed officials from member local governments and major organizations in the Greater Morgantown region.

The Policy Board has a regular meeting about every other month. Please see the calendar for a schedule of meetings. Currently, the board meets in Morgantown City Council chambers at 7 PM on the third Thursday of meeting month. Meeting in City Council chambers allows the board to show the meetings live on public access television (Channel 15, Adelphia). Rebroadcasts of meetings are available at the city of Morgantown website.

The Policy Board is responsible for preparing and approving the areas Long Range Transportation Plan (LRTP), the area's Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), and the MPO's Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP).

The LRTP plans for transportation infrastructure improvements 20 to 25 years in advance. The LRTP include the improvements needed to the area's roadway network, public transportation infrastructure, and bicycle and pedestrian facilities. The TIP is the funding schedule for implementing transportation improvements in the area. If Federal Funds are to be used for a project they must approved by the Policy Board and be included in the MPO's LRTP and TIP. The UPWP is the work program for MPO Staff. Work included in the UPWP is funded by Federal, State, and local funds.

Policy Board Officers

Joe Statler
Board Chairman
Tom Bloom
Board Vice-Chairman
Mayor Patricia Lewis
Board Treasurer
Bill Austin
Secretary, Executive Director

Policy Board Members

Monongalia County Commission
Tom Bloom, MPO Policy Board Vice-Chair
Ed Hawkins
Sean Sikora
City of Morgantown City Council
Jenny Selin
Bill Kawecki
Dave Harshbarger
City of Westover City Council
Janice Goodwin
Star City
Steve Blinco, Recorder
Joe Statler, MPO PB Chairman
Town of Granville
Mayor Patricia Lewis,  MPO Treasurer
Monongalia County Board of Education
Michael Kelly
West Virginia University
Ron Justice
Mountain Line Transit Authority
Dave Bruffy
West Virginia Department of Transportation-Division of Highways
Brian Carr

Morgantown Monongalia


243 High Street Room 026, Morgantown, WV  26505 |  304-291-9571  |  www.plantogether.org

The Morgantown Monongalia MPO is committed to the value of equal opportunity, which ensures non-discrimination in the access to, the benefits of, and the opportunities to participate in the activities of our program.